South Africa’s President Ramaphosa Appoints John Steenhuisen as Minister of Agriculture in New Government


South African President Cyril Ramaphosa revealed his new government on Sunday, announcing opposition leader John Steenhuisen of the Democratic Alliance (DA) as the Minister of Agriculture. Ramaphosa, beginning his second full term after re-election at 71, emphasized the formation of a government of national unity, responding to the African National Congress’s (ANC) loss of its majority in the recent election.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

In a televised address from Pretoria, Ramaphosa allocated 12 out of 32 ministries to opposition parties, with the DA securing six, including education, public works, and environment. Smaller parties received the remaining six ministries. The ANC retains 20 ministries, maintaining control over crucial portfolios such as finance, foreign affairs, energy, and defence.

Share post:



More like this

NAFDAC Refutes Claims That Nearly All Paracetamol Sold in Nigeria Are Under-dosed

July 18, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. The National Agency for Food and...

Nigerian couple welcomes third set of twins in four years

July 18, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. A Nigerian couple, Kingsley and Chinwe...

Delta Enrolls More Than 2m Persons into Health Insurance Scheme

July 18, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Delta State Government says it has...

FG to Construct 6-Lane Super Highway Connecting 5 States, FCT – Umahi

July 18, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Minister of Works, Senator David Umahi,...
× How can I help you?