Tinubu Appoints Nine INEC Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs)


President Bola Tinubu has given his approval for the appointment of nine new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) to serve within the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). These appointments hold for a duration of five years and remain subject to the confirmation process by the Nigerian Senate.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Ajuri Ngelale, the media aide to Tinubu, stated that these appointments are grounded in the powers entrusted to him by Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999, Amended) and Section 6 of the Electoral Act (2022).

The new RECs include Mr. Isah Shaka Ehimeakne, who will be the Resident Electoral Commissioner for Edo State, Mr. Bamidele Agbede for Ekiti State, Mr. Jani Adamu Bello for Gombe State, and Dr. Taiye Ilayasu for Kwara State. Additional appointees consist of Dr. Bunmi Omoseyindemi, the Resident Electoral Commissioner for Lagos State, Alhaji Yahaya Bello for Nasarawa State, Prof. Mohammed Yalwa for Niger State, Dr. Anugbum Onuoha for Rivers State, and Mr. Abubakar Fawa Dambo for Zamfara State.

Ngelale emphasized that President Tinubu’s expectation is for the new appointees to adhere to the highest standards of professionalism and ethical conduct in the execution of their responsibilities. This aligns with his commitment to fostering a new and sustainable benchmark for transparent, equitable, and conflict-free electoral processes in Nigeria.

Share post:



More like this

”How Hollywood Made Me Feel Like a Commodity – Genevieve Nnaji

June 19, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Genevieve Nnaji has shared what she...

Police arrest airport taxi passenger for attempted car snatching

June 19, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. The Police Command in Lagos State...

Agric experts outline solutions to rising food inflation

June 19, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Some agriculture experts have proffered solutions...

Nigeria spends $600m annually on palm oil importation

June 19, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. The National Palm Produce Association of...
× How can I help you?