Bauchi gov wins Dogara’s constituency despite opposition


March 20,2023

Bauchi State Governor and Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Bala Mohammed, has won in all the three Local Government Areas where a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, represents, in his re-election bid.

There has been a long running political battle between Dogara, who is ending his fourth term representing the Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency in the Lower Chamber, prompting him to vow to work towards ensuring that Mohammed was not re-elected.

He had come out to support the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (retd), a former Chief of Air Staff.

Dogara had teamed up with some powerful stakeholders in the state including two former governors, Isa Yuguda and Adamu Mu’azu; a former Minister of Special Duties, Bello Kirfi; Senators Nazif Gamawa and Isa Hamma Misau; among others, in order to achieve his purpose.

However, he could not even stop the governor from winning the three LGAs he represented in the Lower Chamber of the National Assembly.

The results of the governorship election announced by the Local Collation Officers of the three LGAs showed that Mohammed recorded a landslide victory over Abubakar.

In Bogoro where Dogara hails from, Mohammed scored 16,589 votes to beat APC’s Abubakar who got 10,436 votes.

The Collation Officer, Maiyaki Gambo, announced the results of the election at the Prof. Yakubu Mahmood Conference Hall of the Independent National Electoral Commission Headquarters, Bauchi.

The governor also won the election in Dass by over 2,800 votes.

He got 14,471 votes to defeat his closest rival of the APC who got 11,596 votes.

The LGAs won by the governor are: Alkaleri (where he hails from), Kirfi, Bogoro, Dass, Tafawa Balewa, Ganjuwa, Itas Gadau, Zaki, Jama’are, Ningi, Dambam, Shira, Toro and Warji.

He is ahead of the candidate of the APC’s Sadique Abubakar with 112,587 votes. He scored a total of 445,155 votes, while Abukar followed with 362,376 votes.

Abubakar won in the five LGAs of Giade (where he hails from), Gamawa, Darazo, Katagum and Misau.

The New Nigeria People’s Party candidate, Senator Haliru Jika, came a distant third with 51,213 votes.

Jika who currently represents Bauchi Central did not win any LGA. He lost Ganjuwa LGA, where he hails from.(

By Peter Okafor



Peters Anene, News Editor
Peters Anene, News Editor
Anene Peters is the news editor for Naija247news Media Group. He started his journalism career as an intern on tech and science. He's a graduate of Abia State University with a major in Computer Science and Communications. You can contact him for press events on 0903 927 6505 Email:

Share post:




More like this

“Please Calm Down” – Dele Momodu Pleads with Sophia over fight with Davido

June 10, 2023. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Dele Momodu, a well-known Nigerian politician...

“Good looks have favoured me; people want to associate with me or give me deals – Ashmusy

June 10, 2023. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Amarachi Amusi, popularly known as Ashmusy...

Labour Party Reps-Elect Who praised Tinubu has Apologized

June 10,2023. Comments made by a Labour party House of...

I could have slapped Kwankwaso at Aso Rock – Ganduje

June 10,2023. Former Governor Abdullahi Ganduje has said that he...
Verified by MonsterInsights