Under Nigeria’s new electoral laws, president Buhari tells cabinet ministers contesting 2023 election runs to resign


ABUJA, May 11 – Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that any cabinet ministers seeking to run in next year’s elections should resign before May 16, the minister of information said on Wednesday.

Under the electoral law that was amended in February, no political appointees are allowed to contest party primaries or vote during such primaries.

Nigerians will go to the polls early next year to choose a new president, state governors, senators and members of the House of Representatives.

“Mr President has directed all members of the federal executive council who are contesting elective offices must resign on or before May 16. Subsequently, it may affect other government appointees in due course,” Lai Mohammed told reporters after a weekly cabinet meeting.

Mohammed said vice president Yemi Osinbajo, who wants to succeed Buhari, was exempted from the directive since he was jointly elected with incumbent Buhari.

Buhari’s ruling All Progressives Congress party will hold primary elections to select candidates, include for president, at the end of this month.

Ministers for transportation and labour, Rotimi Amaechi and Godswill Akpabio, are among seven cabinet ministers who have announced plans to run for president or governorships.

“It’s political theatre, the new electoral law requires that cabinet members do that. There will be some compliance but you can expect some legal challenges to that (directive),” said Ikemesit Effiong, head of research at Nigerian risk advisory firm SBM Intelligence.

Buhari will step down next year after serving two full terms. More than 20 ruling All Progressives Congress party candidates have so far registered to contest the primary vote.

Naija247news Media Nigeria
Naija247news Media Nigeria
Naija247news is an investigative news platform that tracks news on Nigerian Economy, Business, Politics, Financial and Africa and Global Economy.

Share post:




More like this

Obasa reelected Lagos Assembly Speaker for third term

June 6,2023. The election followed the proclamation of the 10th...

Aliu Umar Yusuf emerges new Speaker, Kogi House of Assembly

June 6, 2023. Azonuchechi Chukwu. The lawmaker representing Lokoja II, Aliu...

“I can’t wait to change my daughter’s surname – Davido’s babymama, Sophia Momodu

June 6, 2023. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Sophia Momodu, the first baby mama...

“You left peace for pieces” – Comedian Nasboi reacts to video of Yul Edochie fighting Judy

June 6, 2023. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Nigerian comedian and content creator, Nasboi...
Verified by MonsterInsights