One year on, new data show global impact of COVID-19 on TB epidemic is worse than expected

0
108

Recovery strategies centered on accelerated testing and contact tracing for TB and COVID-19 to be implemented

The Stop TB Partnership will host a media briefing from 8:00-9:00 a.m. EDT//12:00-1:00 p.m. GMT //1:00-2:00 p.m. CET//5:30-6:30 p.m.

IST on Thursday, March 18, 2021, to provide new data and findings on the impact of COVID-19 on the tuberculosis (TB) epidemic, highlight the need for urgent recovery efforts to address both epidemics, as well as discuss proven recovery strategies.

The briefing will bring together speakers from India’s Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), the World Health Organization (WHO), and people affected by TB.

Media are required to RSVP at this link, and questions can be submitted in advance to lmwakisha@burness.com by 9:00 a.m. GMT on Thursday, March 18.

Ahead of World TB Day, on March 24, and one-year after most countries started to impose COVID-19 restrictions and lockdowns, speakers will present new data showing the impact of the pandemic on a much older infectious disease—TB.

They will discuss how the actual impact compares to the results of a modelling study released last year, which showed that decreases in diagnosis and enrollment for TB treatment could reverse hard-fought gains in the fight against TB achieved in the last five to eight years.

Speakers will also offer proven solutions to recover from these setbacks and get the fight against TB back on track to meet the UN TB targets by 2022. They will highlight how the world can construct an airborne infection defense system, building on existing TB platforms and investments.

Speakers will include:
Honorable Harsh Vardhan, Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Health and Family Welfare, India
Dr. Lucica Ditiu, Executive Director of the Stop TB Partnership
Dr. Joanna Carter, Vice-Chair of the Stop TB Partnership Board and Executive Director, RESULTS
Dr. Tereza Kasaeva, Director of the Global TB Programme, WHO
Peter Sands, Executive Director, Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria
TBC, USAID;
Thokozile Phiri Nkhoma, Stop TB Partnership Board Member representing communities affected by TB