Brown releases 20-man provisional list of D’Tigers for Afrobasket Qualifiers


By Bushrah Yusuf-Badmus

Ilorin, Nov. 6, 2020 D’Tigers’ coach Mike Brown has released a provisional list of 20 players for the 2021 Afrobasket qualifiers slated for Kigali in Rwanda from Nov. 27 to Nov. 29.

Afolabi Oni, the Media Officer of Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF), disclosed this in a statement on Friday.

“Brown who is officially starting his coaching stint with Nigeria submitted a list featuring seven players who were at the 2019 FIBA World Cup where Nigeria qualified for the Tokyo Olympics.

“Team captain Ike Diogu will lead the group which includes 29-year-old Stan Okoye (Gran Canaria), Ben Uzoh, Ike Iroegbu, Talib Zanna, Ekpe Udoh and Michael Eric.

“Festus Ezeli, a 2015 NBA winner with Golden State Warriors, also has a chance to represent Nigeria for the first time ever alongside Mike Gbinije, a member of the 2015 Afrobasket-winning team,” he said.

Oni stated that France-based Ike Nwamu, after missing the final 12-man team to the World Cup, will make another return to the team.

“He is there alongside Tonye Jekiri, Christopher Obekpa, Braxton Ogbueze, Mike Efevberha, Obinna Emegano who at some point featured during the team’s 2019 qualifiers series.

“Chima Moneke who has averaged 12.3 points and 5.8 rebounds in four games for Orléan in the French league has also been called up for the first time.

“Zaid Christopher Hearst-Okpalannaka who plies his trade in the second tier of the French league is also on the list.

“Other new faces who will hope to earn their first cap include Real Betis power forward, Obi Enechionyia, alongside Ogbunu John and Rasheed Sulaimon who play for Casademont Zaragoza.”


S/No. Name Position Club

  1. Stan Okoye Small Forward Club Baloncesto Gran Canaria (Spain)

  2. Ikechukwu Nwamu Shooting Guard Cholet (France)

3.Ike Iroegbu Point Guard Capital City Go-Go (NBA G League, U.S.)

  1. Talib Zanna Centre Hapoel Tel Aviv B.C (Israel)

  2. Chima Moneke                    Power Forward             Orléans Loiret Basket (France) 
  3. Obinna Enechionyia            Power Forward            Real Betis (Spain)
  4. Micheal Gbinije                  Shooting Guard           BC Nevėžis (Lithuania)
  5. Obi Emegano.                    Shooting Guard       Baloncesto Fuenlabrada (Spain)
  6. Mike Efevberha                Shooting Guard        JA Vichy-Clermont Métropole (France)
  7. Michael Eric Centre Turk Telekom Basketball (Turkey)

  8. Tonye Jekiri Centre Club Deportivo Saski-Baskonia (Spain)

  9. Rasheed Sulaimon Shooting Guard Casademont Zaragoza (Spain)

  10. Zaid Hearst-Okpalannaka Shooting Guard Antibas (France)

  11. Ekpe Udoh Centre

  12. Ben Uzoh Point Guard

  13. Christopher Obekpa Centre

  14. Ike Diogu Centre

  15. Braxton Ogbuezue Guard

  16. Festus Ezeli Centre

  17. John Ogbunu

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.