Gov. Sule submits names of NASIEC members to Assembly for confirmation


By Mohammed Baba Busu
Lafia, Aug. 24, 2020 Gov. Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State on Monday submitted two names to the state House of Assembly for screening and confirmation as Chairman and member of Nasarawa State Independent Electoral Commission (NASIEC).

The names are Ayuba Wandai-Usman and Ishaq Baba-Mohammed as chairman and member respectively.

Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi, Speaker of the House announced the nominations during plenary following a letter from the governor read by Alhaji Tanko Tunga, the Majority leader.

The speaker directed the nominees to submit 25 copies of their Curriculum Vitae (CV) to the House on or before Tuesday, Aug. 25

“The nominees are directed to submit their CV to the House on or before Tuesday, August 25 and appear for their screening and possible confirmation on Wednesday, Aug. 26

“The clerk is hereby directed to pass the house decision to nominees appropriately,”the speaker said.

Earlier, the Majority Leader of the House while reading the governor’s letter said, “Pursuant to the Provision of Sections 192(1)-5, 193(1)-(2) and 194 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

“And the powers conferred on me as the Governor, to appoint Chairman and members of the Nasarawa State Independent Electoral, (NASIEC) I, Engr. Abdullahi A. Sule, Governor of Nasarawa State, do hereby forward the under-listed nominees for confirmation as :

“Ayuba Wandai-Usman, Chairman from Nasarawa Local Government and Ishaq Mohammed Baba as member from Keffi Local Government Area,” he said.