Sanwo-Olu appointments new members of governing councils for Lagos tertiary institutions


Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu has approved the appointment of Chairmen and Governing Council members for four State-owned Tertiary Institutions: Lagos State University (LASU), Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (AOCOED), Lagos State Polytechnic and Michael Otedola College of Primary Education (MOCPED).

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

In a statement signed by the Lagos State Head of Service, Mr. Hakeem Muri- Okunola, the Governor said the tenure of Office of the newly appointed Governing Council members would take effect from 1st August 2020, following the expiration of the tenures of the former Governing Councils. The tenure of Office of the Institutions’ Chief Executive Officers shall remain as provided in relevant Laws.

Importantly, the Head of Service noted that the tenure of the newly appointed Chancellor of the Lagos State University, Professor Gbolahan Elias, SAN, would become effective from 16 September 2020 when the tenure of the incumbent Chancellor, His Excellency Honourable Justice George Oguntade would have expired.

Governor Sanwo-Olu thanked members of the outgoing Governing Councils for their commitment and meritorious service to the State.

While congratulating the newly appointed Governing Councils members, he expressed his appreciation and delight at the willingness of the new appointees to serve the State and help build on the achievements of the outgoing Councils.

He maintained that the newly appointed Governing Council Members had been carefully identified based on their individual track records in their respective professional fields, adding that he had no doubts about their capacity to move tertiary education in Lagos State to Greater Heights.

The newly appointed Governing Council Members are:


  1.  Professor Gbolahan Elias, SAN                 -         Chancellor
  2.  Prof. Adebayo Ninalowo                            -         Pro-Chancellor/ Chairman
  3.  Professor Shafiudeen Amuwo                    -         Member
  4.  Mrs. Adenike Yomi-Faseun                       -          Member
  5.  Dr. Adetugbobo Hakeem                            -         Member
  6.  Mrs. Sule Tolani                                         -          Member
  7.  Mrs. Folasade Adesoye                               -          Member
  8.  Mr. Karl Tokun Toriola                              -           Member
  9.  Mr. Kunle Soname                                      -           Member
  10. Dr. Ifeanyi Chukwuma Odii                     -            Member
  11. Mr. Adebayo Akinsanya                            -             Member
  12. Mrs. Mojisola Tolagbe Taiwo                    -             Member
  13. Mrs. Morenike Williams                            -             Member
  14. Mr. Anuoluwapo Esho                               -             Member
  15. Mrs. Foluke Abdul-razaq                           -             Member


  1.  Prof. Nuru Olasupo      -        Chairman
  2.  Mrs. Riskat Akiode       -        Member
  3.  Dr. Olaolu Mudashiru  -        Member
  4.  Mr. Wole Ajifowoke      -        Member

The other tertiary Institutions include:


  1.  Professor Rasheed Kola Ojikutu                -    Chairman
  2.  Dr. (Mrs.) Awonuga, Abiola Olawunmi     -    Member
  3.  Bldr. Saabi Olakunle Alaba                       -    Member
  4.  Mr. Habeeb Aileru                                     -    Member
  5.  Prince Olusegun Ogunlewe                         -     Member
  6.  Mrs. Iyabo Kuteyi                                    -       Member


  1.  Alhaja Sekinat Yusuf                                 -                  Chairman
  2.  Mrs. Victoria Mopelola Perigrino              -                  Member
  3.  Mrs. Folashade Agbalajobi                         -                  Member
  4.  Hon. Toun Adediran                                   -                  Member
  5.  Mr. Johnbull Adebanjo                               -                  Member
  6.  Dr. Waliu A. Ipaye                                     -                  Member
By Naija247news
By Naija247news
Naija247news is an investigative news platform that tracks news on Nigerian Economy, Business, Politics, Financial and Africa and Global Economy.

Share post:



More like this

The AI Data Cycle: Understanding the Optimal Storage Mix for AI Workloads at Scale

July 22,2024. While AI is transforming lives and inspiring a...

“No one matches my level in comedy” – Josh2Funny boasts

July 22, 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Famous Nigerian comedian Chibuike Josh Alfred,...

Judy Austin’s ex-husband drags her for refusing him access to their kids for over 10 years

July 22 2024. Azonuchechi Chukwu. Mr Emmanuel Obasi drags his ex-wife...

Stay away from Abure-led NWC, they will scam you – Kenneth Okonkwo caution s Nigerians

July 22,2024. Veteran Nollywood actor and politician Kenneth Okonkwo has...
× How can I help you?