INEC deploys three national commissioners, additional RECs


The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof Mahmood Yakubu, has approved the deployment of three of the commission’s national commissioners and seven Resident Electoral Commissioners in Kogi State.

The Head, Voter Education and Publicity Department in the Lokoja office of INEC, Alhaji Ahmed Biambo, announced this to the News Agency of Nigeria on Monday.

He mentioned the three national commissioners to include Alhaji Mohammed Haruna, Chief Solomon Soyebi and retired AVM Ahmed Mu’azu.

According to him, the affected RECs are Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof Riskuwa Sheu and Mr Emeka Ononamadu from Bauchi, Kano and Enugu states, respectively.

Biambo said the three RECs had arrived in Lokoja to join the state REC, Prof James Apam, preparatory to the state governorship election on November 16.

He said the remaining four RECs would arrive in the state on November 9 to join their colleagues.

They are Benue State REC, Dr Goshe Yilwatda; Lagos State REC, Mr Sam Olumeku; Rivers State REC, Mr Obo Effanga; and Gombe State REC, Umaru Ibrahim.

He assured the people that their votes would count during the election but urged them to be peaceful and avoid negative actions before, during and after the election.

Previous articleOut of over 190m Nigerians, only 38m have national identification number
Next articleAppeal Court sacks House Majority Leader, Doguwa
Godwin Okafor is a Financial Journalist, Internet Social Entrepreneur and Founder of Naija247news Media Limited. He has over 16 years experience in financial journalism. His experience cuts across traditional and digital media. He started his journalism career at Business Day, Nigeria and founded Naija247news Media in 2010. Godwin holds a Bachelors degree in Industrial Relations and Personnel Management from the Lagos State University, Ojo, Lagos. He is an alumni of Lagos Business School and a Fellow of the University of Pennsylvania (Wharton Seminar for Business Journalists). Over the years, he has won a number of journalism awards. Godwin is the chairman of Emmerich Resources Limited, the publisher of Naija247news.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.