Bello re-elected in Niger State


By Aminu Garko/Minna

Niger governor Abubakar Bello, who contested for a second term on the ticket of the All Progressives Congress, has won the bid, according to the results of the Saturday polls announced by the Returning Officer, Prof. Angela Miri.

Miri, Vice Chancellor of Federal University Lokoja, who announced the result on Sunday in Minna, said that Bello won the polls in all of the 25 local governments of the state.

He scored 526,412 votes, while Umar Nasko of PDP polled 298,065 votes.

“Abubakar Sani Bello of APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest votes is hereby returned elected and declared the winner of the March 9, Saturday governorship election in the state,” she said.

Niger state has 2,387,734 voters registered. But 925,518 voters were accredited for the governorship election, with total valid votes put at 900,817. The number of votes cast was 920,480, while 19,609 votes were rejected.

Prof.Samuel Egwu ,Niger Resident Electoral Commissioner(REC) commended stakeholders for the peaceful conduct of the election in the state.

He lauded the Niger State Police Command and other security agencies for providing the ambience to enable a peaceful and transparent poll.

*Updated at GMT 23.14 on Sunday

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.