PDP wins Onitsha North/South Federal Constituency


Onitsha (Anambra) – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Rep. Lynda Ikpeazu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Feb. 23, 2019 election for Onitsha North and Onitsha South Federal Constituency of Anambra.

Declaring the result in Onitsha on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Chika Moor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, said Ikpeazu polled 55,103 votes to defeat 14 other contestants.

Moor said Ikpeazu’s closest rival, Mr Patrick Obianwu of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) garnered 12, 145 votes, while Mr Michael Mbanefo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came third with 1,258 votes.

The returning officer said the total valid votes at the election was 69, 912; rejected votes – 828, while total votes cast was 71, 322.

Reacting, Ikpeazu, who had represented the people of the area for two tenures at the Green Chambers, ascribed her victory to the grace of God and hard work.

“I ran an issue based campaign and basically showcased my achievements to the people as well as what I intend to further attract.

“They voted for that; this will spur me to have better representation, fulfill my promises to them and impact positively in their lives,” she said.

While assuring that she would sustain her qualitative representation at the National Assembly, Ikpeazu urged her co-contestants to join her in the quest to provide more development for the people. (NAN)
Source: Vanguard

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.