Court restrains APC from submitting Delta candidates’ list to INEC


A Federal High Court sitting in Asaba, the Delta State capital, has restrained the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC from submitting the list of party candidates from Delta State for the 2019 elections to the INEC.

In the ruling by Justice Toyin Adegoke, all parties to the suit were ordered to maintain status quo and desist from submitting any list of candidates to INEC until the substantive suit was heard.

APC is the respondent in the suit, while the National Chairman of APC, Adams Oshiomhole, was joined as second respondent. INEC and Prophet Jones Erue are the third and fourth respondents.

The Chief Cyril Ogodo-led Delta APC State Working Committee (SWC) and others had instituted an interlocutory injunction restraining APC and Oshiomhole from submitting the list of candidates from Prophet Jones Erue’s faction to INEC.

In her ruling, Justice Adegoke said, “This matter shall be given an accelerated hearing owing to the fact that it is a pre-election matter. All defendants are to take note of the tendencies of this suit.

“Parties shall maintain status quo as at today, the 17th day of November, 2018. That is the order of this court.”

Counsel to the applicants, Barr. O.J. Oghenejakpor, said the implication was that, “As at today, no list of candidates can be submitted to INEC and none will be submitted until we hear this case.”

Meanwhile, counsel to the first and second respondents, Barr. George Onaho, who had challenged the jurisdiction of the court, said the needful had been done.

Previous articleWe wont allow EFCC to abuse Fayose’s fundamental human rights – Ozekhome
Next articleAPC, PDP other Parties rush to submit presidential/NASS candidates’ lists
Godwin Okafor is a Financial Journalist, Internet Social Entrepreneur and Founder of Naija247news Media Limited. He has over 16 years experience in financial journalism. His experience cuts across traditional and digital media. He started his journalism career at Business Day, Nigeria and founded Naija247news Media in 2010. Godwin holds a Bachelors degree in Industrial Relations and Personnel Management from the Lagos State University, Ojo, Lagos. He is an alumni of Lagos Business School and a Fellow of the University of Pennsylvania (Wharton Seminar for Business Journalists). Over the years, he has won a number of journalism awards. Godwin is the chairman of Emmerich Resources Limited, the publisher of Naija247news.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.