3 federal lawmakers, 12 assemblymen lose Ondo APC primaries


As the three sitting senators in Ondo state are celebrating the automatic return ticked handed them by the National Working Committee NWC of the All Progressive Congress APC, the story is not the same for three members of the House of representative and 12 members of the state House of Assemble who have lost out of the election.

The case was worsened due to the presentation of two different lists from the two camps of executives of the party in the state, one headed by governor, Oluwaritimi Akeredolu and the other by Senator Ajayi Boroffice, final list revealed that both sides had suffered causalities with Governor Akeredolu having the highest .

Despite protests and counter protest both in the state and Abuja, the two camps suffered causalities with Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu camp having the highest.

While Akeredolu-led APC submitted Dr. Tunji Abayomi, Mr Lucky Ayedatiwa and Chief Donald Omotayo Alasoadura as senatorial candidates for the Senate, the parallel executive submitted names of Prof Robert Ajayi Boroffice, Yele Omogunwa and Alasoadura as its candidates.

At the end, the three sitting senators, Prof Ajayi Boroffice, Tayo Alasoadura and Yele Omogunwa got the tickets.

For the House of Representatives for the 2019 elections, those who got the tickets include Mayowa Akinfolarin of Odigbo/Ileoluji-Okeigbo Federal constituency and Ola Baderinwa of Idanre/ Ifedore Federal Constituency.

It was learnt that those who did not get the party’s ticket to recontest are those representing two Federal constituencies in Akoko which include Stephen Olemija, Babatunde Kolawole, and Akure North/ South, Afe Olowookere.

Mr. Ade Adeogun (Akoko South West/south East); Hon Akintoye Albert (Irele/Okitipupa and Bunmi Tuni-Ojo (Akoko North West/ North East) were said to be on the governors list but did not make it.

Some others on the governors list who did not make it also include, Otunba Gboyega Adefarati and Olemija for the federal constituencies.

But Timehin Adelegbe (Ose/Owo); Jimmy Faloye (Akure North/South); Dr. Jibayo Adeyeye (Ondo East/West) and Donald Ojogo, (Ilaje/ Ese-Odo) federal constituencies made the list, they were said to be on the governors list.

Seven of 19 members of the APC in the State House of Assembly got a return ticket of the party while the rest twelve lost out.

Those who got the ticket include the Speaker, Mr Bamidele Oleyelogun, his Deputy, Iroju Ogundeji and David Sunday Olajide. Others included Felemu Olusegun, Towase Kuti Olusewasegunota, Akinruntan Abayomi and Jamiu Suleima Maito.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.