Saraki, Atiku, 10 Others Jostle For PDP Presidential Ticket


Twelve top politicians of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) today jostle for the party’s presidential ticket.

Delegates numbering at least 4,000 are expected to vote at the Adokiye Amasiemeka Stadium, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, venue of the convention and pick one candidate from the 12 aspirants.

The aspirants are former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; Senate President Bukola Saraki; immediate past Senate President, Senator David Mark; Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo; Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal; former governors of Kaduna, Kano, Sokoto, Jigawa and Plateau states- Ahmed Makarfi, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Attahiru Bafarawa, Sule Lamido, and Jonah Jang; former Minister of Special Duties, Tanimu Turaki; erstwhile lawmaker, Datti Baba-Ahmed and Stanley Osifo.

Chairman of the PDP National Convention Planning Committee, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State on Friday told journalists that none of the 12 aspirants has stepped down, contrary to speculations.

According to Okowa, everything is on course for a hitch-free convention.

Rivers State Governor Nysom Wike in a post on Twitter assured all delegates, observers, and visitors of adequate security adding that the state government is working with security agencies to ensure safety during the convention.

The successful PDP candidate will represent the party at the 2019 presidential elections and will be slugging it out with President Muhammadu Buhari of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.