INEC releases timetable for four bye-elections

PIC.19. From left: National commissioner, Independent Electoral Commission (INEC), Prince Solomon Adedeji; chairman of INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu; and another national commissioner, Prof. Antonia Okoosi-Simbine, during the INEC’s presentation of certificate of registration to five new political parties, in Abuja on Friday (16/6/17). 03311/16/6/2017/Hogan-Bassey/ BJO/NAN

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the schedule of activities for four bye-elections.

The commission on July 19 announced it will on August 11 conduct four bye-elections to fill vacancies in Katsina North and Bauchi South senatorial districts in Kastina and Bauch states; as well as Lokoja/Kogi/Koton Karfe Federal Constituency in Kogi State and Obudu State Constituency in Cross River State.

This decision was made after the notification of vacancies earlier conveyed by the National Assembly and the Cross River State House of Assembly to the commission.

In line with this development, the commission approved the timetable and schedule of activities for the bye elections.

According to the schedule signed by the Secretary to the Commission, Augusta Ogakwu, the last day for the conduct of primaries by political parties is July 25, while the submission of Forms CF001, CF002 and Nomination Forms at INEC Headquarters must be done by July 27

After this will be publication of forms CF001. List of nominated candidates and submission of names and addresses of party agents must be concluded by August 3.

According to the timetable, campaigns are expected to end on August 9, to pave way for the by-elections two days later.