Voting Ends in Ekiti APC simPrimary, Votes’ Counting Begins


Ado-Ekiti, Nigeria, May 12, 2018: The peaceful and orderly conduct of the primary election to pick the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for the July 14 governorship election in Ekiti State has been concluded.

A total of 2,326 delegates accredited for the election took part in the exercise.

Voting by the accredited delegates which commenced at 1:06pm, ended at 4:14pm without any record of violence as all stakeholders comported themselves in a peaceful and orderly manner.

The delegates’ list comprised 63 statutory delegates who took the first slot to cast their votes while the remaining delegates from across the 16 local government areas of the state took turns to cast their votes. The Ekiti East Local Government delegates were the first to take the shot at ballot while those from Irepodun LGA voted last.

Votes’ counting is expected to commence in earnest following the successful conclusion of voting.

Commenting after the end of voting, Nasarawa State Governor and Chairman of the electoral committee, Tanko Al-Makura, restated that nothing would compromise the transparency and credibility of the primary election.

To this end, he warned agents of the governorship aspirants and security agents that none of them was allowed to touch the ballots in line with the resolve of the electoral committee to ensure no one compromised the election.

Previous articleEkiti APC Guber Primary: Fayemi, Oni, Ojo in Early Lead
Next articleSegun Adewale emerges Ekiti ADP governorship candidate
Godwin Okafor is a financial journalist, Internet Social Entrepreneur and the Founder Naija247news Media Ltd He has over 16 experiences in journalism, which cuts across traditional and digital media. He started his journalism career in Business Day, Where he was a senior editorial graphic artist, before he left to start Naija247news, An Online Financial Newspaper in 2010. He has won series of awards and he is the chairman of Emmerich Resources Limited, the publisher of and also sits on the board of Students In Business Awards, (SIBA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here