La Liga Fixtures Out: First El-clasico For Dec 20 But…


La Liga has published its full fixture list for the 2017-18 season, but the date for one of the two Clasicos is likely to change.

The first Clasico of the La Liga season is scheduled to be at the Bernabeu just before Christmas on Wednesday, Dec. 20 — but as Real Madrid will be in action at the Club World Cup, as Champions League holders, the game is likely to be moved.

The final of the Club World Cup is scheduled for Dec. 16 in the United Arab Emirates, and La Liga may not force Real Madrid to face Barcelona just four days later.

The return at the Camp Nou comes with just more two games to go before the end of the season, on the weekend of May 6.

The two Spanish giants are already due to play each other three times before the La Liga season begins — in the International Champions Cup on July 29, and in the two-legged Spanish Super Cup at the Camp Nou on Aug. 13 and the Bernabeu on Aug. 16.

Real Madrid begin the defence of their title away to Deportivo La Coruna on the weekend of Aug. 20, before facing Valencia (h), Levante (h), Real Sociedad (a), Real Betis (h) and Alaves (a). They will finish the campaign at Villarreal on May 20, while Zinedine Zidane has been given a tough trio of away games in the run-in as they must also go to Sevilla.

Barcelona’s first game will be against Real Betis at the Camp Nou, and they then play Alaves (a), Espanyol (h), Getafe (a), Eibar (h) and Girona (a). Barca’s final game is at home against Sociedad.

Atletico Madrid’s campaign was due start at home to Girona, but the game will take place at La Liga debutants as work is completed on their new Wanda Metropolitano stadium. They close the 2017-18 season at home to Eibar. The first game at their new ground will be against Malaga on Sept. 17.

Atletico are at home first in the Madrid derby on the weekend of Nov. 19, while Real host on April 8. They play Barcelona at home on Oct. 15, and go to Camp Nou on March 4.

Villarreal were also due to host Levante on the opening weekend, but like Atletico they will have the fixture reversed due to works on their Estadio de la Ceramica home.

Here are the fixtures in full:

20 Aug 2017: Deportivo La Coruna (A)

27 Aug 2017: Valencia (H)

10 Sep 2017: Levante (H)

17 Sep 2017: Real Sociedad (A)

20 Sep 2017: Real Betis (H)

24 Sep 2017: Alaves (A)

01 Oct 2017: Espanyol (H)

15 Oct 2017: Getafe (A)

22 Oct 2017: Eibar (H)

29 Oct 2017: Girona (A)

05 Nov 2017: Las Palmas (H)

19 Nov 2017: Atletico Madrid (A)

26 Nov 2017: Malaga (H)

03 Dec 2017: Athletic Club (A)

10 Dec 2017: Sevilla (H)

17 Dec 2017: Leganes (A)

20 Dec 2017: Barcelona (H)

07 Jan 2018: Celta Vigo (A)

14 Jan 2018: Villarreal (H)

21 Jan 2018: Deportivo La Coruna (H)

28 Jan 2018: Valencia (A)

04 Feb 2018: Levante (A)

11 Feb 2018: Real Sociedad (H)

18 Feb 2018: Real Betis (A)

25 Feb 2018: Alaves (H)

28 Feb 2018: Espanyol (A)

04 Mar 2018: Getafe (H)

11 Mar 2018: Eibar (A)

18 Mar 2018: Girona (H)

01 Apr 2018: Las Palmas (A)

08 Apr 2018: Atletico Madrid (H)

15 Apr 2018: Malaga (A)

18 Apr 2018: Athletic Club (H)

22 Apr 2018: Sevilla (A)

29 Apr 2018: Leganes (H)

06 May 2018: Barcelona (A)

13 May 2018: Celta Vigo (H)

20 May 2018: Villarreal (A)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.