INEC releases some results of National Assembly election


Nigerias-national-assemblyThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)  has announced some results of the National Assembly election held on Saturday across the country the News Agency of Nigeria reports.

In Kebbi, Alhaji Adamu Aliero of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and former Minister of the FCT, was declared as the winner of Kebbi Central Senatorial District.

Prof. Yusuf  Saidu, the Returning Officer, announced in Birnin Kebbi on Monday that Aliero, won the election with 216,084 votes while the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Alhaji Abubakar Malam, emerged second with 68,792 votes.

Meanwhile, collation of the Kebbi North and South Senatorial results as well as that of the eight House of Representatives was still ongoing as at the time of filing this report.

In Kwara, Mr Zakari Mohammed, the Chairman of the House of Representatives’ Committee on Media and Public Affairs, was the winner of the House of Representatives’ Election into the Baruten/Kaiama Federal Consistency.

Mohammed, a Candidate of the APC, scored 32,505 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Mr Abubakar Othman, who polled 12,353 votes.

Declaring the result in Kaiama, the headquarters of Kaiama Local Government Area of Kwara on Monday, the Returning Officer, Dr Ahmed Ameen of the University of Ilorin, said the election was peaceful.

“The APC candidate polled 32,505 votes while the PDP candidate polled 12,353 in the election,” Ameen said.

In Imo, Sen. Hope Uzodimma, representing Imo West, under the platform of the PDP  was declared the winner with 154, 604 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sen. Osita Izunaso of the APC, who scored 70, 843 votes.

Mr ThankGod Ezeala of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) got 27, 753 votes to place third.

Prof. Chris Eze, the INEC Returning officer for Imo West announced the result at the INEC state office, Owerri, on Monday.

Chief Athan Achonu of the PDP also won the senatorial position for Imo North, while Mr Samdaddy Anyanwu of the PDP won the Imo East senatorial seat.

Eze explained that electoral officials collating results from local government areas within Imo West decided to relocate from Orlu to Owerri because Gov. Rochas Okorocha allegedly led an attack on the electoral workers late on Sunday night.

“Yesterday, we couldn’t conclude the collation of results at Orlu because of an attack by a team led by Imo Governor, His Excellency Rochas Okorocha.

“Because of the attack, resulting in the tearing of the result sheet by Okorocha and his group, the Resident Electoral Commissioner directed that we return to INEC headquarters, Owerri,’’ he said.

Eze said that after the attack, they were able to recover the rumpled sheet and recalculated the results.

“At the time the governor stormed the collation centre with security men, some local government returning officers had yet to submit their results.

“The governor did not know that what he tore was not the comprehensive result, and at the end of his action, we picked the torn sheets and joined them to reproduce the result’’, he said.

Eze said that his major assignment at INEC Owerri office was to declare the result for Imo West as collated.

He added that the exercise went on smoothly, as there was no report of violence anywhere during the conduct of the election in the area on March28.

In Kogi, the two senatorial election results so far declared by the INEC in the state were for Kogi West and Kogi East senatorial districts.

In Kogi West, the Returning Officer, Mr Oloniruha Akintola, declared Former Rep. Dino Melaye of APC the with 41,120 votes to defeat incumbent Sen. Smart Adeyemi of the PDP who polled 38,148 votes.

In Kogi East, the  Returning Officer, Mr Adaji Ameh, declared the APC candidate, Alhaji Abubakar Abdulrahaman, the winner as he polled polled 98,915 votes to defeat the incumbent, Sen. Atari Aidoko of the PDP, who got 88,994 votes.

The Returning Officer for Kogi Central, Mr Musa Adoke, announced that Sen. Mohammed Ohiare  of APC scored 55,776 votes to beat the PDP candidate candidate, Mr Ahmed Ogembe who polled 42,736 votes.

In Sokoto, Gov. Aliyu Wamakko won the Sokoto Central senatorial zone seat under the APC with a total of 225,642 votes.

The INEC Returning Officer for Sokoto Central zone, Prof. Abdullateef Femi, who announced the result, said that Wamakko defeated incumbent Sen. Ahmed Maccido of PDP who got 65,692 votes.

Femi also declared that the incumbent member of the House of Representatives for Sokoto Central zone, Alhaji Umar Bature  of the PDP also lost his seat.

Bature polled 24,788 votes as against APC’s Bala Hassan who clinched 85,512 votes to win the election.

In the Kware/Wamakko Federal Constituency, the INEC Returning Officer, Dr Muhammad Sani, announced that the incumbent Alhaji Abdullahi Wamakko of APC retained his seat with 67,231 votes while PDP’s candidate Gado Yusuf got 14,216 votes.

In Illela/Gwadabawa Federal Constituency, the INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Bello Zaki, announced that the incumbent member, Abdullahi Salame of APC also won with 64,144 votes, while his PDP counterpart, Ibrahim Yahayya, polled a total of 15,930 votes.

In Sabon Birni/Isa Federal Constituency, APC’s Sani Isa won with 85,512 votes to beat PDP’s Sagir Bafarawa, who got 24,788.

NAN also reports that the results for the Sokoto East and Sokoto South senatorial zones, as well as six remaining federal constituencies were being awaited. (NAN)