APC clinches House of Reps seat for Agege in Lagos


Mr Taofeek Adaranijo of the APC has been declared winner of the House of Representatives seat in Agege Federal Constituency of Lagos State.

Mr Aaron Akinloye, INEC’s Returning Officer for Agege Local Government Area, announced the result shortly after the election in Agege on Saturday night.

Akinloye, a lecturer in Physical Education at the University of Lagos, said only APC, PDP, MPPP and APA participated in the election.

He added that APC polled 51,044, PDP 25,229, APA 173 and MPPP 29 votes.

He also listed the contestants as Mrs Okunola Mary for MPPP, Mr Femi Samuel for APA, Mr Orebiyi Raheem for PDP and Mr Adaranijo Taofeek for APC.

He said the number of registered voters was 274,068, accredited voters 86,883; valid votes 76,475, total votes cast 81,363 while rejected votes were 4,888.

He said the election was conducted in 11 wards.

However, representative of the APA, Mr Adeniyi Ajomale, refused to sign the result sheet, saying that the electoral process was fraudulent.

“We discovered a lot of fraud. That is why I have refused to sign. Our party is going to take legal action, we had our agents in various wards who noticed the fraud’’, Ajomale said.

A representative of the APC, Mr Sunday Ajayi, said that his party was satisfied with the result adding that election in the area was free and fair.

Mr Musa Popoola of the PDP congratulated the people of Agege for the peaceful conduct of the election but said the party noted some flaws in the electoral process.

“Our party shall study the flaws critically to determine how it has impacted on the results of this election and respond appropriately’’, Popoola said. (NAN)