UN General Assembly elects 14 members to human Rights Council


Ban Ki-moonThe UN General Assembly has elected 14 countries to serve on the UN Human Rights Council (HRC) for a period of three years, beginning from Jan. 1,  2014.

Algeria, China, Cuba, France Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Vietnam, Russia, and United Kingdom, were elected into the council by secret ballot held at the UN Headquarters in New York on Tuesday.

Members of the Council serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms.

The Council, composed of 47 members, is an inter-governmental body within the UN system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and tmake recommendations on them.

All of its members are elected by the world body’s General Assembly, and it has the ability to discuss all thematic human rights issues and situations that require its attention throughout the year.

It meets at the UN Office in Geneva.

The Council’s membership is based on equitable geographical distribution with 13 seats for African States, 13 seats for Asian States, 8 seats for Latin American and Caribbean States, 7 seats for Western European and other States, and 6 seats for Eastern European States. (NAN)