‘God particle’ scientists win Nobel Prize for Physics


Belgian physicist Francois Englert, left, and British physicist Peter Higgs answer a journalist’s question about the Higgs boson at CERN in Meyrin, near Geneva. – AP/File Photo

STOCKHOLM: Peter Higgs of Britain and Francois Englert of Belgium won the Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday for conceiving of the so-called “God particle” which confers mass.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Higgs, 84, and Englert, 80, were honoured for theorising a particle – discovered last year after an agonising quest – that explains why the Universe has any substance at all.

“This particle originates from an invisible field that fills up all space. Even when the Universe seems empty this field is there,” the jury said in a statement.

“Without it, we would not exist, because it is from contact with the field that particles acquire mass.” Shortly after the announcement, the University of Edinburgh posted a statement from Higgs saying he was “overwhelmed” by the honour.

“I would also like to congratulate all those who have contributed to the discovery of this new particle,” Higgs said.

“I hope this recognition of fundamental science will help raise awareness of the value of blue-sky research.” Englert told AFP in a brief comment: “I’m very happy to have received the prize.”

Known as a boson, the discovery was popularly dubbed the “God Particle” on the grounds that it is everywhere yet bafflingly elusive. Without it, say theorists, we and all the other joined-up atoms in the Universe would not exist.

The presumed particle was discovered last year by a mega-scale physics lab near Geneva operated by the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN), after a decades-long search.

“As an achievement, it ranks alongside the confirmation that the Earth is round or Man’s first steps on the Moon,” Canadian particle physicist Pauline Gagnon told AFP.

Higgs and Englert, the latter of the Free University of Brussels, received the world’s most prestigious award for excellence in physics nearly a half century after they and others set down the theoretical groundwork.

The history of the discovery dates back to 1964, when six physicists, working independently in three groups, published a flurry of papers.

The first were Belgians Robert Brout, who died in 2011, and Englert, who proposed a mechanism by which a mass-giving field of particles invaded the early Universe, which until then was filled only with massless particles.

This was followed by Higgs, who was the first to suggest that mass could only occur through the existence of a hitherto unknown particle.

Because of this, the particle has been named after him, although Higgs has always been swift to acknowledge vital contributions from others.

At the heart of the search for the “Higgs,” was a drive to fill the so-called Standard Model, a conceptual framework of the fundamental particles of matter.

The model, designed in the 1970s, failed to explain why some particles have substance, and others, such as light, have none.

The answer, according to the theories, lies in an invisible field of bosons, or force carriers that was created after the Big Bang.

Fundamental particles travel through this field. Some interact with the Higgs to a greater or lesser degree, which thus confers mass, while others do not.

On July 4 last year, physicists at CERN announced to rousing applause that they had found an elementary particle “consistent with” the Higgs boson.

CERN Director General Rolf Heuer, in a statement on Tuesday, gave the biggest sign yet that the presumed particle is indeed the right one.

“The discovery of the Higgs boson at CERN last year, which validates the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism, marks the culmination of decades of intellectual effort by many people around the world,” he said.

Later he told staff at CERN that it was “a great day for particle physics”, assuring his co-workers that they, too, deserved praise: “I’m really proud of you guys.”

The London-based Institute of Physics, where Higgs is an honorary fellow, hailed the work on the Higgs boson, saying it had led to a very exciting and productive period in physics research.

“It has been a long journey but one that has inspired a generation to engage with the subject,” said Frances Saunders, president of the institute.

“With the existence of the Higgs boson confirmed… we can now move on to the next challenges to our understanding such as the phenomena of dark matter and quantum gravity.”

In line with tradition, the laureates will receive their prize at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on December 10, the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel’s death in 1896.

The pair will share the prize sum of eight million Swedish kronor ($1.25 million, 925,000 euros), reduced because of the economic crisis last year from the 10 million kronor awarded since 2001.

Babatunde Akinsola
Babatunde Akinsolahttps://naija247news.com
Babatunde Akinsola is aNaija247news' Southwest editor. He's based in Lagos and writes on the Yoruba Nation political issues, news and investigative reports

Share post:



More like this

CrowdStrike Update Causes Widespread System Crashes Due to Inadequate Quality Checks

SAN FRANCISCO, July 19 (Reuters) - A routine update...

Dangote Refinery Targets 550,000 Barrels Per Day Amid Crude Supply Challenges

Nigeria's Dangote refinery is set to achieve a production...

Reps joint committee probes Dangote, Lafarge over rising price of cement

By EricJames Ochigbo Abuja, July 20, 2024 (NAN) The...

Ebonyi LGA elections witness low turnout, late arrival of materials

By Christian Ogbonna Abakaliki, July. 20, 2024 (NAN) The Local...
× How can I help you?