Niger Assembly confirms commissioner 14 nominees, rejects one


Niger state House of Assembly on Thursday rejected the nomination of the former Commissioner for Agriculture in the state, Kabiru Abbas Musa.

However, the House confirmed the nomination of 14 other nominees.

The exercise was concluded after the screening of Hajiya Fatima Magudu who was the immediate past Commissioner for Education in the state.

When the name of Kabiru Abbas was announced for confirmation, the lawmakers gave a resounding “No.”

However, no reason was given for his rejection.

Three other nominees were not screened due to pending petitions which have not been resolved as the Committee of Petitions and Privileges have not concluded sitting on the matters.

The Speaker of the House, Ahmed Marafa, said the nominees would be screened after the lawmakers return from break next year.

Those confirmed as commissioners were – Zakari Bawa, Dr. Mustapha Jibril, Hajiya Ramatu Yar’adua, Aliyu Zakari Jikantoro, Zakari Abubakar, Barr. Amina Musa, Ibrahim Balarabe, Idris Jibril Amin, Mamman Musa, Nasara Danmallam, Engineer Ibrahim Mohammed Panti, Mohammed Baba Adamu, Ismaila Ibrahim and Fatima Magudu.

Previous articleAdekuoroye makes 2017 World’s Wrestling history makers
Next articleShettima presents N170bn budget for 2018
Godwin Okafor is a financial journalist, Internet Social Entrepreneur and the Founder Naija247news Media Ltd He has over 16 experiences in journalism, which cuts across traditional and digital media. He started his journalism career in Business Day, Where he was a senior editorial graphic artist, before he left to start Naija247news, An Online Financial Newspaper in 2010. He has won series of awards and he is the chairman of Emmerich Resources Limited, the publisher of and also sits on the board of Students In Business Awards, (SIBA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.